Local election results update

Mahottari, Sept 22 (RSS): CPN (Maoist Centre) candidates have won mayor and deputy mayor in Gaushala municipality – the main commercial hub of Mahottari district.
According to the vote count results, CPN-(Maoist Centre)’s candidate Shivanath Mahato and Asha Lama secured victory as mayor and deputy mayor of the municipality.
Shivanath defeated his close contender Ram Kumari Devi Mahato of Federal Socialist Forum Nepal (FSFN) while Asha edged Dr Ramesh Yadav of FSFN in the deputy mayoral race.
Maoist candidate Mahato secured 5,944 votes against 5,007 of his arch-rival.
Likewise, CPN (MC) has won six wards followed by NC in five wards and FSFN in one ward of the municipality.
Meanwhile, the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal candidates have gained victory in Rupani municipality of Saptari.
RJPN candidate Hareram Yadav got 4,068 votes to become the mayor of the municipality while his arch rival Ram Narayan Kunwar of the Nepali Congress received 2,971 votes, according to the District Election Office, Saptari.
Likewise, RJP deputy mayoral candidate Bechani Devi Yadav obtained 3,936 against 2,697 secured by Bholeswori Devi Chaudhary of the Nepali Congress.


© 2016 The Himalayan News. All Rights Reserved...