Pulsar Sports Award: Cricket dominates as Sandeep, Paras, Karan all win awards

Kathmandu, May 17: Cricket dominated as Nepal’s cricket sensation Sandeep Lamichhane bagged best youth player, captain Paras Khadka bagged best male player and coach Jagat Tamata won the best coach award during the Pulsar Sports Award award organised by the Nepal Sports Journalists Forum on Thursday.

The award categories include Male and Female Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Youth Player of the Year, Lifetime Achievement, Para-athlete, Special, and People’s Choice.

Paras Khadka who helped Nepal get an ODI status was named Best Male Player of the year. While the best female award was received by badminton player Shova Gauchan.

Teenage sensation Sandeep Lamichhane was declared best youth player. Whereas for his special innings in the World Cricket League Div 2, Karan KC has received the Special Award for his match winning innings of 42* against Canada.

Coach of Nepali Cricket Team, Jagat Tamata has been declared Coach of the Year.

Himal Aryal, captain of wheelchair cricket and basketball teams has received the Para Athlete of the Year award.

The People Choice award, however, has been won by Table Tennis Player Santoo Shrestha.

For his contribution to football, Ashok KC has been awarded Life Time Achievement Award by NSJF.

Each of the ‘Player of the Year’ title winners, in both Male and Female categories, were rewarded with a Pulsar motorcycle and Rs 50,000 cash prize. Whereas, other sportspersons in the remaining categories received a cash prize of Rs 50,000 per head.


© 2016 The Himalayan News. All Rights Reserved...